Seeing how other martial artists get their kicks (or throws or joint locks or….)

rei

On the weekend I was privileged to attend a training day run by the state’s branch of the IBF (International Budo Federation). These days are held about twice a year and during my time training I have heard of them but never ended up attending for various reasons. Having no such reason not to attend, I made my debut this time.

Wow!! So many martial artists under one roof!! There were a few karateka from our network (probably less than 10 all up) who I knew, a few other karateka who I recognised from tournaments but mostly people I had never met.

To be honest I really had no idea what to expect or what I would get out of it. There were a host of high level instructors leading the sessions throughout the day. I had not heard of any of them; some of the styles they taught were completely unfamiliar to me also. I have only moved in a very small and sheltered pond and only for about 2 or so years when it comes to martial arts, so I guess this is hardly surprising. There were no sessions being run by anyone in our dojo or even in our network this time, which pretty much ensured there was noone teaching traditional Okinawan or Japanese Karate of any sort. That’s ok though I train in Okinawan or Japanese Karate most days of the week anyway……change is as good as a holiday! So with an open and empty mind, ready and eager to learn and try out some new things, I started my day.

I don’t know what my fascination is with being on the ground but I was certainly drawn straight to the matted area, enticed by the prospect of learning some ground drills from a highly experienced Kosen Judo Master. In no time I was getting into it with one of my training buddies and we were flipping each other, putting on chokes and seeing who could be on top the most and who needed to tap out first. Good sweaty fun to warm up with.

Next I tried some JuJitsu, with an equally adept and effective instructor. We did some break fall practise to warm up. I have thankfully not completely forgotten how to do this so this part was familiar at least. After that we moved into some drills which felt a little like slightly unfamiliar bunkai, which employed a lot of wrist escapes / joint locks / throws and submissions. I struggled to get all the steps flowing through in the time allowed but I started to get a feel for using the techniques rather than speed and strength to get my partner into a vulnerable position.

Next came a quick photo and lunch break before jumping in to some more sessions. I decided to try out Tae Kwon Do next. There are a couple of women in our dojo who have trained either TKD or Muay Thai, and when I have had the pleasure of doing kumite with them I have noticed they employ their kicks a lot differently to me; way more confidently and often with desirable effects (desirable for them at least!!)! I don’t necessarily think that trying to mix in a TKD or MT style of kicking will help my game per se BUT I figure that understanding their game might help me play mine better. The TKD session was only an hour, but the drills we practised actually helped me understand a little of the tactical use of kicks, use of timing and distancing to achieve accurate targeting….. and who knows perhaps one day I will be able make use of some of the strategies that were taught. It certainly gave me a better understanding of what was going on with my training buddies and some ideas for getting out the way of their kicks.

Some tough decisions had to be made in choosing my final session for the day. I could either do more Judo (tempting as it was fun!!), learn some Kenpo / Hapkido or try out some kobudo. Since I brought my nan chaku (which have been sadly neglected in favour of my Bo and mostly my general karate training in the lead up to the tournament and grading), I decided to join the Michaelangelo brigade. I need not have brought my own, since foam chaku were provided as needed (where were they the first time I picked up a set a week after I had broken my toe!!!???). We warmed up with some basic techniques (some familiar and some less so…..all rusty!!). The drills we learned after this were basic nanchaku strikes and blocks / resets combined with kicks which was interesting. We finished up with some target practise (I did swap to foam chaku at that point) on balloons. I am not sure if the purpose of the exercise was to pop them / deflate them or just tap them but it was still fun to actually get to aim at something without worrying about hurting anyone.

And all too soon the day was over and I was heading home my mind buzzing with new ideas and my body feeling the effects of using a whole lot of muscles which were not accustomed to being used the way they were. It was good to see what some other martial artists get up to and it was highly enjoyable to get a taste of it in a relaxed and supportive environment. I will definitely check out more of these events in future.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Seeing how other martial artists get their kicks (or throws or joint locks or….)

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed yourself. The IBF-Australia encourages exploring the other styles, concepts and conveyance that will enhance that which you already know. So, far greater than that is the bigger world you have now seen. Respect among those who have gone before helps us maintain history and lineage to keep the integrity within the arts, we encourage students to support their own organizations and recognize difference. On the day there was the founder of the AMAA, (originally formed for contact fighters), a world female kickboxing champion, world Arnis instructor, great friend of Tino Ceberano who has traveled and to train many of his followers, an instructor who has traveled overseas to teach aikijujitsu, European judo champion, SA rep for the WJJF, Australian technical adviser for TKD who travels the world teaching and competing, 2nd generation to Bruce Lee, several of 2nd generation to the 1st Karate school in Australia, Szlagowski Karate. These are just a few who just mixed on the floor without all the grandeur, remembering how we in our day met at these events. I was proud to have them all there to share their experiences, to help build a better martial arts community. I look forward to see your writings in future years and hope you enjoy your experience for many more to come,

    Kind Regards,
    Kym Reid

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

