One year on

OK so it’s now 2 years on…..things are getting more serious, I am training a LOT more, I have changed styles, and changed instructors, but I still love everything about it.

A work in progress

cropped-20141007_135838.jpg

A year ago today I stepped into a Dojo for the very first time. I am not convinced that I even knew what a Dojo was before that. That day I really had no idea I would be training, let alone still training now; I just came to bring my (then) 5 year old and watch what he was doing. Fortunately for me the Sensei invited me to train with the group that day and fortunately I said yes. The rest is history.

I had no expectations of what Karate could do for me; no preconceived notions of what it was about, although I was pretty sure the breaking board stuff was just for show. I didn’t know there were so many different styles. I didn’t know what a kata (form) was. I didn’t know what any of the Japanese meant. I had no idea about Dojo etiquette. And even…

View original post 594 more words

Leave a Reply

