Fighting the good fight.

 

dont-quit-300x192

A year ago yesterday, at the time of starting to write this post, (22nd February 2015), I acquired my first real Karate injury; a broken toe. The injury was, perhaps somewhat surprisingly, a catylist for positive change. My injury made me realise that it is possible for me to pick myself up, dust myself off, and keep “fighting the good fight”, where I formerly would have catastrophised for way too long to do so in a timely fashion. Although, initially this lesson was learned in a physical sense, it quickly translated into all areas of my life.

Fighting the good fight means more than just being able to train while recovering. Fighting the good fight means doing your best in whatever you do. Fighting the good fight is looking out for yourself and for everyone else. Fighting the good fight is being proud of who you are and leading by example. Fighting the good fight is being honest with yourself and being honest with others. Fighting the good fight is finding the light at the end of the tunnel and setting your course toward it. Fighting the good fight is living everyday as if it is your last.

When my toe broke, a lot of mental barriers broke too. Sure I had made a lot of positive changes in my life before, but it took breaking a bone to remind me that like bones, life is fragile, and life is precarious, and life can change in an instant. It made me confront the fact that no matter how I live my life, I won’t be here forever.

This made me considerably more determined to share more with people, to plant seeds for positive change, both close to home and further afield, and to lead by positive example. I started to care more about how I lived my life and care less about what others thought about how I lived my life. I started to believe in myself and believe that some of the things I believed in were worth sharing. I know I am far from perfect. Perfection is a long road with no end in sight, so I do the best I can with what I have. So a year ago (25/2/15), when I was finding it difficult to walk, and a bit frustrating not to, my blog, “A work in progress” was born.

It started with recipes (which people had been asking me to blog for ages) but the blog quickly grew into a space for sharing my ideas and reflections on much more than just what was going on in my (evolving) kitchen. I will admit that I enjoy writing just for myself. This is a surprise to me as English was my worst subject at high school, and I disliked writing prose and essays throughout university and beyond. I have, however, found writing this blog to be therapeutic and, at times, even cathartic.

For whatever reasons this blog came to be and continued, I seem to have gathered a reasonable audience now.  Some people give me feedback on google plus or facebook, some on the blog itself, and some in person.

I would like to that each and every one of you for joining me on my journey, (especially those who have over the years encouraged me to start it – you all know who you are!!). I appreciate being able to share something with you. If I have made you smile, if I have made you cry or moved you, if I have made you think, if I have convinced you to try something new, or take a step outside your comfort zone, if I have planted seeds for change, if I have given you insights on what it is to “grow up” and keep growing, then I guess I am heading in the right direction. I am still and will always be a work in progress. I will keep fighting the good fight because life is here to be lived.

(Oh, and happy blogoversary to “A work in progress”)

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Fighting the good fight.

Leave a Reply

