Satay Porridge

“Hmm”….I hear you say.

I know right. It probably sounds a bit weird. But weird is the new normal.

My kids enjoy porridge for breakfast on a fairly regular basis. I put Miss nearly 5’s recipe muddy puddle porridge on the blog several months ago.

I am more of a smoothie person when it comes to breakfast (this is still my current favourite) and my husband favours cold cereal most mornings. My husband and myself often (particularly when it’s cold) enjoy porridge for supper though. He tends to go for the conventional version with fresh or dried fruit and nuts.

I like to mix it up a bit. One night I felt like something savoury, spicy, and warm but didn’t have anything quick to hand. I had some of my friend Sarj’s satay sauce (this is her blog which has excellent Asian fusion recipe ideas) in the fridge though, and thought perhaps it would work in porridge….after all congee (rice porrige / gruel from Asian style cooking) is savoury. Since then (and since I finished the sauce in the fridge) I have been enjoying satay porridge on a semi regular basis but creating the satay sauce element in it as it cooks. I just made it so here is what I put in tonight’s batch.

RECIPE

1/4 cup quick cooking oats

1/2 cup water

2 teaspoons natural crunchy peanut butter (you can use other but I like the real deal)

1 teaspoon soy

1 teaspoon lemon juice

1/4 teaspoon coconut essence or 1 tablespoon desiccated coconut.

1/4 teaspoon each of: turmeric, cumin, corriander powders. Ginger would also be good I just didn’t think of it until now.

1/2 – 1 teaspoon (ie a squirt) Sriracha (chilli / garlic hot sauce) – if you prefer it less hot you could substitute a tablespoon of sweet chilli sauce instead.

dash of maple or rice malt syrup (may be omitted especially if using sweet chilli sauce)

METHOD

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and microwave for 90 seconds. Stir and eat hot / warm. Sorry no photos…..I just ate it! *For a super simple version you could just used the oats, water, sweet chilli, soy and peanut butter and it would still be delicious.

One thought on “Satay Porridge

  1. Pingback: Easy Chocolate Hazelnut Icecream | A work in progress

Leave a Reply

