Rainbow Salad

It’s been really hot here the last week so I haven’t felt like doing a lot of cooking or eating much in the way of hot food. We have been eating a lot of salad and a lot of fruit. Getting fruit into my kids is NEVER an issue. I practically buy out the fruit and veg shop and still run out before the end of the week most of the time. Getting them to eat conventional salad….and even getting my husband to eat conventional salad, not such an easy sell!

When you are feeding kids, it’s all about pitching it right. If I had served this up and called it “quinoa salad”, I don’t think it would have had the same response. Call it “Rainbow salad” and I get a request for a repeat performance (which happened today) and a declaration of the fact that I am the best cook in the world. Rainbow salad is an honest name for it as you can see by the ingredients so I am not hiding anything.

Quantities are completely flexible. I have put recommended quantities and vegetable types only. Just used what you have and adjust the dressing accordingly! I never follow recipes so why should I expect anyone else to!

RECIPE (serves about 6-8 with the quantities I have used)

INGREDIENTS:

About 2-3 cups cooked (about 1 cup raw is needed), cooled, quinoa (I used white but mixed or red would work fine) – to cook quinoa put 1 cup quinoa to 1.5 cups water in a pot (after rinsing if desired) and bring to the boil then simmer 10 minutes and then let stand off the heat for 5 minutes before fluffing with a fork.

  • 3 carrots, grated
  • 1 large cucumber cut in cubes
  • 1 large stalk of celery, diced
  • 2 spring onions or 1/4 red onion, finely chopped
  • 4-5 radishes finely sliced
  • 1/2 punnet of red and 1/2 punnet of yellow grape tomatoes, quartered
  • 10 snowpeas, sliced into small pieces
  • 1 green capsicum diced
  • 1/2 red capsicum diced
  • 1 cup basil torn
  • 1 cup baby spinach or cos lettuce roughly chopped.
  • 3/4 cup stuffed green olives, roughly chopped (I only put these in today but they were a nice addition)

DRESSING

  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 rounded teaspoon shiro miso paste (you could use soy or tamari if you don’t have miso)
  • about 4 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

ADD ONS / SPRINKLES

  • Pine nuts / peanuts / pepitas (any or all)
  • humus or baba ganoush
  • hot chilli / garlic sauce (because I put that stuff on everything!!)

METHOD

Put all the salad ingredients in a large bowl and combine well. Stir through dressing. Serve in bowls and top with add ons if desired.

 

Leave a Reply

