Dry DIY – and the smell of chai?!

bad hair day? Chocolate is the cure all….even for this!

A while ago I posted about my use of the “no poo method” (“No-poo” review.). Incidentally I am still using this method to keep my hair clean and have never been happier with the state of my hair.

But “poo” or “no-poo”, my lengthy locks take ages to dry so I prefer not to wash my hair more than once a week. This can present problems re timing. I train most days and training = sweaty head, oily and potentially stinky hair.

I had been reading about DIY dry shampoos – you can buy commercial ones but I figured making one would be fun and if it wasn’t effective I could just use it to make a cake with later!!

I found a few recipes and tinkered them to form my own concoction as follows:

  • 1/2 cup tapioca or arrowroot flour
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa (probably not for blondes)
  • 2 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon bicarb soda

Essentially you put the ingredients in a jar, bung the lid on and give it a good shake and it is done!

Next make yourself a simple sprinkle lid. I used baking paper with holes in it and a rubber band to secure it to the top of the jar.

To use this product simply sprinkle it sparingly on the oily parts of your hair (eg roots), leave in for a couple of minutes to sog up the oil, and then brush out until your hair looks normal and there is no powder coming out when you brush.

It seems to work really well with the oily factor and also makes your hair smell very pleasant.

The one weird thing (though probably not unpleasant) I noticed was that when I exercised and started to work up a sweat, there was a distinct aroma of “dirty” chai (ie chai spiced hot chocolate) in the air…..I wonder if any of my training buddies noticed it tonight!

Mmm…..what is that smell…..it isn’t sweat…..more….. um….sweet!

Leave a Reply

