Gekisai on repeat (with apologies to Fidlar)

I travel a lot to get to some of my classes. My mp3 player has given up the ghost and I can’t listen to Audio books. Normally I listen to classical (with a lower case C) music but I prefer to choose my own. As a result I have resorted to listening to non commercial radio station triple J, who play music that post dates Mozart and Bach…..lol. They play lots of stuff over and over and it gets stuck in my head. This particular song (which is one of said ear-worms) came to me when walking home after a fairly solid Kata class this morning (at my local dojo)…..I couldn’t help myself but change the lyrics just a little bit to relate it to my class.
PS: Just in case anyone thinks I am having a go at myself or anyone else, I really am not. I thought it was a great class….although I kind of lost count on how many “repeats” I did!!! My kata (and my coordination / memory / ability to incorporate changes) are all improving and I am actually really happy with the progress I have made (today and in the last 6 months)…..but there is always room for more improvement……I wrote a page of notes after class of stuff to work on.

I wish I had a team of “bus drivers” (for team kata) but sadly not to be this year 😦

GEKISAI ON REPEAT (AN ODE TO A 90 MINUTE KATA CLASS!)

I don’t know why it’s so difficult for me,
Showin’ you a kata I ought to know.
Well I’ve tried to get it right about a thousand times.
In my head, you just always say “no”.
  

And I don’t care a bit, I’ll watch Karate Kid.
It’ll make me who I really wanna be.
But I’m that kind of special person that thinks too much

And nobody understands me!

Everybody can train their body, everybody but me!

 Why can’t anybody just show me how to train my body?

I’m gonna lock myself inside my room
And just do Gekisai on repeat!

I thought if I could neaten up my stance,
It’d help me start and finish up the whole thing right,
But I hate to say I didn’t really stand a chance;
Now the strikes and blocks are out and my shoulders are too tight!

But I am hell bent, I’m in the tournament,

And I sure as hell don’t want to mess up!

So I’ll kiai and shout, and it’ll all work out.

And if it don’t I won’t let on and I will not fess up! 

Because you coordinate your body, just like everybody but me
Why can’t anybody just help me to train my body?
Everybody can train their body; everybody but me.
Why can’t anybody just show me how to move my body?
 

I’m gonna lock myself inside my room, and do Gekisai on repeat!! 

Because one day I will move my body, like everybody I see!
So that anybody watching me will see I’m somebody.
Because one day I will move my body, like everybody I see!
So that anybody watching me will see I’m somebody.
  

I’m gonna lock myself inside the dojo, doing Geki Sai on repeat!!!

One thought on “Gekisai on repeat (with apologies to Fidlar)

Leave a Reply

