Tabbouleh

20150618_124242

Still on the subject of lemons, I made some Tabbouleh for lunch today (and the next couple of days) because:

1. I like it.

2. I haven’t had it in ages.

3. It uses lemons.

4. I have loads of parsley in the garden.

This is my today’s twist on the recipe. It is pretty tangy (which is my personal preference) so if you prefer it less so just halve the lemon and / or omit the zest.

INGREDIENTS (serves 3-6 depending on how big a serve you want).

  • 1 cup white or mixed white / red quinoa pre cooked and cooled (I cook in about 1.25 cups water – simmer 10 mins and take off heat for 5 mins then fluff with a fork).
  • 1 punnet cherry tomatoes (halved or quartered depending on size)
  • 2 Lebanese or one continental cucumber (diced)
  • 2-3 cups chopped flat leaf parsley (I used leaves only but stems won’t kill you), curly leaf will also work.
  • small handful baby rocket (arugula for the American peeps) roughly chopped (optional but I had in the garden and like it for its peppery overtones)
  • 1 small piece of preserved lemon rind, finely chopped (optional but I love it)
  • 2 garlic cloves crushed
  • zest and juice of 2 large juicy lemons
  • coarse black pepper to taste
  • small handful of toasted walnuts or pine nuts (I didn’t put them in but I think they would be extra nice)

METHOD

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and mix well. Eat, and store leftovers in fridge.

One thought on “Tabbouleh

Leave a Reply

