Cherry ripe slice

Cherry ripe slice and Peppermint Crisp Fudge slice.

I was making a batch of my chocolate peanut butter caramel slice (CPBCS) (which seems to be a favourite in our house as well as a few other friends) – recipe is here: https://sagiashidachi.wordpress.com/2015/03/06/chocolate-peanut-butter-caramel-slice/, and I discovered I had quite a lot of extra dough left as I rolled it thin to make a roll rather than traditional slice.

So I decided to make another filling with cherry and coconut to spread on the rest of the dough. I have been toying with this idea for a while and last night I thought I would give it a go.

To make this just this slice I would halve the chocolate layer ingredients from the CPBCS or if you want to make both the CPBCS and this or even the peppermint one (here: https://sagiashidachi.wordpress.com/2015/04/28/peppermint-crisp-fudge-slice/) you could just make the 2 fillings different fillings and use the whole recipe from the chocolate part of the CPBCS.

CHERRY RIPE FILLING

1 cup frozen cherries (defrosted or semi defrosted) – just take them out before you start is fine

1.5 – 2 cups decicated coconut

small piece of fresh coconut flesh (optional – I used as I had some and it did give a nice rounded flavour – it was about the size of 6 squares of chocolate)

1 tsp rice malt syrup (optional)….you could use  2-3 soaked dates

a little water as needed to achieve thick consistency / allow to blend (I used some spare date soaking water)

METHOD

Put about 1/2 desiccated coconut into food processor or mill and blitz until it starts to stick together and begins to form coconut butter. Add the rest of the desiccated coconut, fresh coconut and cherries and blitz to combine, add rice malt syrup or dates and a little water as needed to form a spreadable paste.

Spread evenly over rolled out chocolate layer and then put another layer of chocolate on top (see peanut butter slice recipe for further info).

Freeze over night and then cut into small squares and store in freezer (or fridge if you prefer it less firm).

NOTE: I think this is a new favourite with Mr 6. I suspect Ms 4 may also enjoy it, since clearly, anything that has PINK filling in it must be good!

Leave a Reply

