Sarv’s Jaffa Cake

The icing was really difficult over the grated chocolate and orange rind so not up to my usual standard of writing. None the less the cake was delicious.

OK so there is a bit of a story behind this cake.

As my readers and friends would know, I am in the midst of moving houses. So my old kitchen is now off limits (since my husband has cleaned it to within an inch of its life) and my new kitchen is not all that functional…..particularly the oven. It works in that it gets hot ….. very hot….. my first venture with it was a simple one – crisping some tortilla’s into corn chips…..let’s just say they got VERY crisp VERY fast…..so my confidence for baking cakes in it is pretty low.

Moving house has left me little time for doing other chores (like shopping for example) so life has been somewhat chaotic and finding what ingredients and implements we have can require traversing three rooms and excavating another cardboard box!

Our weekly Friday gathering is at my brother’s this week. We can’t host it here yet, not with our little trestle table, 5 odd chairs and general level of disorganisation. This level of disorganisation, however does not exclude us from providing something for dinner. At least I got the email and got first dibs on choosing what I would make. It is my sister out law’s birthday coming up and we will be celebrating that so I thought I would do the dessert which generally I can throw together without having to go shopping and raw cakes don’t rely on ovens so win-win…..get to try out the new freezer instead.

I had a look around at our stocks last night. I had lots of oranges and lots of almond pulp and I thought it would be nice to make some sort of Jaffa creation. I didn’t actually use a recipe and just went by feel and taste on it. The mixture tasted nice though so I figured it would be ok. I made a sample cake as well as the birthday cake and thought I would take it to training for my friendly instructor Sarv. He generally seems to appreciate my cakes and gives great feedback.

I thought I was in trouble when I received a text message from Sarv at 10 to 10 this evening. It said “I practically died when I tried this Jaffa cake…” (I am unable to print the rest of the message as it is not PG…see below) but in a further text  he clarified, “Thanks heaps for the cake, love it!” and so I have a lot more confidence now. 😀

So thank you Sarv, not only for being a great Sensei, and a great guy in general, but for being my guinea pig on this cake. And because I agree, I can’t really call it the “New Vegan Cr@$k” (read illicit substance of choice), I will just call it Sarv’s Jaffa Cake. I hope Helen and the rest of the family like it just as much as you.

RECIPE

Makes one 20cm cake and one 10cm cake (or you can probably squish it all in the bigger tin or you could make brownies in a lamington or slice tin).

  • 3 cups dates soaked in the juice and rind of 5 oranges (divided) – preferably soak over night. 15 minutes I did it for wasn’t really long enough and the dates were hard to purée.
  • Pulp from 3 batches of almond milk (this is about 4.5 cups of pulp which is the result of 3 cups of soaked almonds)
  • 1 cup plus 3 heaped tablespoons cocoa (divided)
  • 1/2 cup desiccated coconut
  • 4 teaspoons coconut oil (divided)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla (divided)
  • a little water (as needed)

FOR THE CAKE

  1. Put 2 cups of dates about 1/4 – 1/2 the OJ / pulp, 1 cup cocoa and the dessicated coconut in processor with some of the almond pulp and blitz until smooth.
  2. Add 1 teaspoon vanilla, 2 teaspoons coconut oil and rest of the almond pulp and blitz until it is a very thick batter / dough.
  3. Put in tin / s lined with baking paper and smooth over with spatula.

FOR THE ICING

  1. Put the remaining cup of dates / some juice (start with 1/4 cup and add more as needed) / other 2 teaspoons of coconut oil / other teaspoon of vanilla and 3 tablespoons of cocoa in food processor and blitz until smooth and glossy. I prefer to do this in my mill attachment. If too thick thin down with water or rest of juice and blend again.
  2. Ice the cake and cover with baking paper and freeze overnight.

SERVING SUGGESTIONS

Mini-me cake travelled an hour and sat through a 90 minute training session on an ice brick and then travelled home with Sarven so am not sure yet what advice to give on serving / consistency from freezer vs fridge. I imagine getting it out 30 minutes prior and removing baking paper / putting it in the fridge would work. I think it might be nice (and decadent) garnished with some orange rind and grated dairy free dark chocolate……we will see how I go with remembering all that on Friday!!

Update: I decorated and put the cake in the fridge when we started mains and took it out and left it on the bench after that for about 20 minutes. Consistency was perfect – sort of like ice cream cake. It was devoured by kids and adults alike.

5 thoughts on “Sarv’s Jaffa Cake

  1. Pingback: Almond Chai Cake | A work in progress

  2. Pingback: Jaffa walnut brownies | A work in progress

  3. Thank you for tasting it for me….and for only nearly dying when you tried it……my kumite needs a lot more work before you knock off….tasting cakes vs teaching me how to throw a decent punch……am guessing the former might be the easier of those two gigs……lol 😋

    Like

  4. I wholeheartedly endorse this cake.
    You can’t go past chocolate + any of: mint / peanut butter / orange… and this jaffa cake is the king of cocoa combos! The orange rind is exactly the right strength 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am a harsh critic of my own food but I agree Sarv, this one is definitely a winner! It was so delicious that it was heart wrenching to leave the remaining few small slices for the birthday girl. I am definitely making this one again (of course I will bring you another one when I do).

      Like

Leave a Reply

