How to take a quick dip

In the midst of packing boxes to move / clear the house, Pesach (Passover) and Seder night crept up on me and my Mum who was hosting, asked me to provide Salad, dips and crudités to serve 20. Um…OK….no problem…..so instead of procrastibaking I had to have a quick dip!

Salad is something I make in my sleep and eat everyday so I just had to send my time poor husband to the shop on his way home from work on Wednesday.

As far as dips went I was told someone was bringing a chick pea salad so I thought humus might have to be off the menu. My mushroom pate is generally popular so I thought I would make some version of that again. The others I kind of free formed. Because there was so much other food, I drastically over-catered as it turned out but oh well – leftovers are ok.

Wasabi pea and avocado dip

about 2 cups frozen peas (thawed)

2-3 small ripe avocados

2-3 tablespoons tamari (to taste)

large squeeze of wasabi paste (to taste)

splash of lemon juice

Blitz all ingredients in food processor.

Mushroom and nut pate

about 500 gm mushrooms

green parts of a bunch of spring onions

bay leaf

mixed herbs (about 1 tsp)

pepper

tamari (to taste – about 1 Tbsp)

black tahini (1 Tbsp) optional

1 tbsp nutritional yeast (optional)

handful raw cashews (pre soaked if you like creamier consistency)

handful toasted walnuts (can just toast in frypan you cook mushrooms and spring onion in)

splash brandy

water or stock to thin to desired consistency

Fry onions, mushroom and bay leaf with walnuts until mushrooms tender and onions wilted. Add herbs and brandy and cook off alcohol.

Allow to cool a little.

Add to food processor with remaining ingredients (except pepper and tamari). Blitz until mostly smooth / slightly chunky then season to taste and pulse to combine.

C to the power of 5 dip

The C’s are: Carrot, Corriander root / stem, Cumin, Chilli and Canellini beans.

About 750 gm carrots

Roots and stems of bunch of coriander

inch of ginger

1 veg stock cube

+ water to steam / boil veg in

1 rounded teaspoon cumin

1 rounded teaspoon turmeric

1 tin canellini beans, drained

1/2 tsp chilli powder (more or less according to taste – ours is home made from habeneros so you don’t need even that!)

lemon juice (optional)

salt or tamari to taste

In a medium to large pot steam carrot, corriander roots / stems and ginger in water with stock cube, until tender / soft. Allow to cool. Add vegetables to food processor with remaining ingredients (except salt / tamari), Use stock remaining in pot to thin as needed. Season to taste.

Serve with crudités (or in this case people served the dips on Matza. I had the carrot one on my salad actually!)

I forgot to take pictures but will try and have some up tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “How to take a quick dip

Leave a Reply

