Orange and poppy seed cake (Naked Raw and Delicious)

20150401_155555I recently saw this recipe on Bianca’s Wholefood Simply Site. https://wholefoodsimply.com/orange-and-poppy-seed-cake/If you haven’t gone to her site then you probably should. The recipes on there are fantastic and generally uncomplicated, as the name suggests. I have tried (and modified) too many to count and I don’t think I have encountered any real duds at all. Many are favourites in our house.

I was waiting for the time and energy to make this recipe though. I haven’t had orange and poppyseed cake since pre vegan days and it was then one of my favourites…..so this cake was made primarily for me!!! If you are not an orange and poppyseed cake person you could try her similar banana one or the chocolate one (I have tried the banana one and it rocks).

Today was a day to “celebake” (end of jury responsibility) and to “procrastibake” (put off – well temporarily at least, packing and spring cleaning duties), ok so it wasn’t baking in the “turn on the oven” sense but that’s how I roll generally (call me unconventional)….and hey….I mean who doesn’t like cake.

So my deviations from the recipe in the link above were based mostly on convenience and taste (and my constant urge compulsion to tweak things).

Instead of going the whole 4 cups of dessicated coconut, I used 2.5 cups of that and 1.5 cups of almond pulp (ie the remains of the 1 cup of soaked almonds which I had just used to make almond milk)….It was such a beautiful coincidence that the amount of almond pulp and the amount of coconut I had in the jar matched up so well with my idea of division of quantities.

I didn’t have medjool dates so I used standard dried dates (about 3/4 cup or 30 or so dates) and soaked them briefly in the orange juice.

I also added a teaspoon of cinnamon and a 1/2 teaspoon of ginger to the mix – I like to spice things up!

The recipe took about 5 minutes to prepare (including washing up) and about 3 hours in the fridge to set. If you have a group of friends around it would probably take 5 minutes to eat too but fortunately there is a good deal left in the fridge still since we were restrained and only had a small slice each.

Very very yummy.

Note: The picture shows my next batch; the left was basically the same as the recipe outlined above and the right a variation outlined in the comments below for a lime version.

REFINED VERSION OF LIME AND POPPY SEED CAKE

3.5 cups desiccated coconut

0.5 cups buckwheat groats or about 1/3 cup buckwheat flour (or just use 4 cups dessicated coconut)

3/4 – 1 cup dried pitted dates soaked in the rind and juice of 4 large or 5 small limes

small handful of fresh baby spinach leaves (optional but for colour)

1/2 teaspoon spirulina powder

1/4 cup poppy seed

Blitz buckwheat in mill if using and put aside.

Puree soaked dates with juice and pulp in the mill.

Blitz coconut in food processor until it starts to get warm and stick together

Add date puree and buckwheat flour / milled groats if using and blitz to combine

Add poppy seed and pulse to mix in

Press into lined tin and refrigerate for at least an hour or so. Slice in thin slices and enjoy. This is nice and tangy – if you are not as much of a lime fan as I am just reduce the number of limes / zest. Can be frozen but keeps in fridge wrapped in paper / foil for at least a week (unless you eat / share with friends and then a bit less than that ; ) )

5 thoughts on “Orange and poppy seed cake (Naked Raw and Delicious)

    • You will have to let me know if the green part of the stripey one was as good as that one only had coconut and almond and no coconut flour or macadamia’s. Enjoy. And thanks for an energetic training session……needed to burn off all the treats.:)

      Like

  1. I made a lime version yesterday. I ran out of coconut after 3 cups so subbed in the remainder with 1/2 cup macadamias and 1/2 cup coconut flour. I put in juice and zest of 4 limes, 1/2 tsp ginger and 1 tsp spirulina for colour. Yummmmm.

    Like

Leave a Reply

