Chocolate banana caramel peanut butter ice cream slice

20150319_231204[1]

It’s been a challenging week to say the least. I had been kind of volunteered to host our family Friday night gathering this evening. Had I anticipated last Friday just exactly how challenging my week was going to pan out I may have made more of an objection to the idea.

When I host, I like to do things properly. And when I mean things, I (obviously) mean food! On this occasion though, I knew I would have to have something that could be quickly easily reheated and assembled just in case I wouldn’t actually be there in time to actually serve it up (which very nearly happened as it turns out…..but that my friends is another story for my “being courted – part two” post!!)

Preparation has been fairly piecemeal and has been fitted in around my (what has panned out to being) very little available time. It started in fact last Friday with the making of a vast quantity of frijoles which became (somewhat by default) the basis of the meal.

For mains I served what I would term “mexican bowls”. I made some quinoa (mixed) last night, whipped up some vegan queso (recipe may follow) and roasted some sweet potato (likewise) arranged for my brother to bring guacamole, a friend to bring some salsa and jalapenos and my mum to bring some home made tortilla chips which she and my daughter made on their day together while I was doing my duty. I also got mum to bring some fruit to go with whatever I was able to assemble for dessert.

I can’t even remember when I managed to whip up dessert but I remember thinking I should write this down if it works to my satisfaction. It was taste tested tonight and I think enough people (myself included) liked it enough for me to write it down before I forget it. My husband said he prefers my peanut butter caramel slice though as he found it too banana-y 😦 That was his fault for not eating enough bananas before they got very ripe….Oh well – always some critics!

Anyway…..without further ado. I give you my new dessert recipe.

Makes about 20 serves (I used a square lamington tin (about 30x30cm or slightly bigger).

Base

5-6 very ripe bananas (peeled and broken in half approximately)

3-4 heaped tablespoons cocoa

1- 1.5 cups oat bran (or use oats for courser texture), for GF buckwheat groats may also work if ground a bit first

1 cup almond pulp from making almond milk (or almond meal)

To prepare:

Line tin with baking paper.

If using oats or buckwheat groats process until they are a course meal then add other ingredients and blend. Otherwise put everything in the food processor and blend until you get a sticky mix.

Spoon mix in tin and smooth over with baking paper.

Cover and put in the freezer while you work on the next layer.

Banana peanut butter caramel layer

6 or more (depending on desired thickness of layer) very ripe bananas (peeled and broken in half approximately)

1/2 cup smooth (or crunchy) peanut butter

1 cup date purée (about 3/4 cup dates soaked in water for about 15 minutes and then pureed will make enough and it won’t matter if you have extra you can use or freeze it – mine I had in the freezer already so I just defrosted it)

1 tsp vanilla

To prepare:

Put everything in food processor and process until thick and creamy.

Spread over the base. Return to the freezer for a couple of hours or more (covered with baking paper) to set.

Chocolate top

This layer is optional but makes it prettier. It is easy.

1-2 tablespoons rice malt syrup

2-3 tablespoons cocoa

1 -2 tablespoons softened smooth peanut butter (or coconut butter)

water to thin down to desired consistency.

To prepare:

Combine syrup, cocoa and peanut butter or coconut butter in bowl and combine. Thin with water. If you want to spread leave slightly thicker than if you prefer to artistically drizzle it.

Either spread or drizzle (it will set like ice magic as you go) over your set caramel layer, cover and return to freezer for an hour or so.

Precut if you wish. Best left sitting for 5 minutes before eating.

Leave a Reply

