Gluten Free vegan (optionally nut free) Plum (or Apple) cake

(modified from Deb’s vegan apple cake recipe)

Makes 2x20cm cakes. (each cake serves about 12)

Set oven to 170 degrees (or a little lower for fan forced)

Line tins with baking paper.

Ingredients:

24 small satsuma or other firm plums or 6-8 apples (eg pink lady but any are fine)

4 cups GF flour (I used 2.5 cups organ brand, 1/2 cup potato flour and 1 cup buckwheat flour although I think I would put more potato and less buckwheat next time)

8 tsp baking powder

3/4 cup coconut sugar

2 T cinamon

1 t ginger powder (optional but I like it)

2 t vanilla essence

2T apple cider vinegar / white vinegar (optional but helps give it more lift)

2 cups apple or red grape juice (I used grape with the plums)

1/2 cup soy / rice / almond milk (your choice – I used soy this time)

1/2 cup oil (I used rice bran oil but you could use canola or similar – EV olive oil may carry too much taste, coconut oil may work if you like)

Directions:

Cut fruit into thin slices (with apples I quarter and seed and then slice or you could core and slice if you like the look of rings instead, with plums I just quartered but would be prettier with 1/8ths I think…..I was just being lazy).

Sift and mix flours, sugar, baking powder, spices.

Mix liquid ingredients.

Add wet to dry and mix to a thick batter.

Spoon 1/4 mix into each tin and smooth over with wet hands or wet spoon pressing into the edges. Layer half the fruit evenly over the batter.

Carefully spoon the rest of the batter over the fruit (ie 1/2 remaining mix in each tin) and smooth as before and then decoratively layer the rest of the fruit over the top.

Bake about 30-45 minutes until a skewer inserted into the centre of the cake comes out clean.

Cool for 5 mins or so in tin then remove and cool on wire rack.

Kate’s and my kids were the guinea pigs on this cake today and there were no complaints and 3/4 kids had seconds 🙂 I forgot to take pictures before I cut it. I have added pictures of the apple version I made this morning.

Leave a Reply

